Facebook

How to block someone on Facebook

Deactivate Facebook Account

Blocking someone is more serious than unfriending them. When you block someone, they will no longer be able to do things like tag you in posts or see posts on your timeline. If you’re friends when you block them, it will automatically unfriend them. Think carefully before making this choice.

If you still want to block someone after thinking about it, don’t worry. It’s a relatively easy process.

 

How to block someone on Facebook

 

Go to Privacy Shortcuts

At the top right of every , there’s a little question mark. Click on the question mark and select Privacy Shortcuts. This will take you Facebook’s policing area for harassment.

block someone on facebook

 

Inform Facebook who is bothering you

Under Privacy Shortcuts, you’ll see an option marked “How do I stop someone from bothering me?” When you click that link, Facebook will prompt you to enter the name of the person you’d like to block. Once you’ve entered their name, click Block.

Report to Facebook Who is bothering you

Click confirm to block them

Blocking someone is a big step, so Facebook will ask you to confirm your choice. Once you click Block the first time, Facebook will bring up a list. Select the specific person on the list that you wish be blocked, then click Block again. You’re done!

People you’ve blocked will not be notified when you block them, so don’t worry about immediate blowback. Most won’t even notice you’ve blocked them. When they go to look for you, it’ll appear like you’ve deleted your account rather than banished them from your daily life. Besides, you can always unblock someone on Facebook if you change your mind. Sometimes you just need to step away for your own sanity.

… Please drop your feedback. We’d love to hear from you!

 

Editors Pick: How to See Your Pokes On Facebook

 

Recap on How to block someone on Facebook

Even if you’ve not spent a reasonable amount of time on Facebook, you will certainly have to meet that one person who is not thinking like you in anyway near agreeable understandings.  These people may be your friends from high school who just like taking things too far politically or maybe they are people you used to be friends on the street but now blowing up your messages after a simple argument. Occasionally, situations like this arise that may require you to go beyond more than just unfriending them. Sometimes you need to block them on Facebook.  Most times in situations like this, blocking is the best option.

As we said earlier, blocking someone is more serious than simply unfriending or unfollowing users bothering you with annoying updates. When you block them, you will no longer see their fake life they portray on Facebook. They in return will no longer be able to see the things you post online, they can’t tag you in their posts or see posts on your timeline. If you’re friends with them before blocking, blocking will automatically unfriend them. Think carefully before making this choice.

If you still want to block someone after thinking about it, don’t worry. It’s a relatively easy process.

If you subsequently have a change of heart as to unblock them. Good and fair… here is a guide to unblock them

 

How to block someone on Facebook without them knowing

 

1. Visit Privacy Shortcuts

At the top right corner of every Facebook page, there’s a little question mark. Click on the question mark and select Privacy Shortcuts. This will direct you to Facebook’s policing area for harassment.

block someone on facebook

2. Report to Facebook who is bothering you

Under Privacy Shortcuts, you’ll find an option marked “How do I stop someone from bothering me?” When you click that link, Facebook will prompt you to enter the name of the person you’d like to block. Once you’ve entered their name, click Block.

 

Report to Facebook Who is bothering you

3. Confirm you want to block them

Blocking someone is a big step, so Facebook will ask you to confirm your decision. Once you hit on the “Block” button the first time, Facebook will bring up a list. Now, select the specific person on the list that you wish to block, then click Block again. You’re done!

 

READ ALSO:  How do I poke someone on Facebook?

People will not be notified when you block them, so don’t worry about immediate blowback. Most people won’t even notice you’ve blocked them. When they go to look for you, it’ll appear like you’ve deleted your account rather than banished them from your daily life. Besides, you can always unblock someone on Facebook if you change your mind. Sometimes you just need to step away for your own sanity.

Facebook Comments

Topics