Deactivate or Delete Facebook account with no stress

Deactivate or with no stress- If you want to opt out of , you can choose to deactivate or delete. While they are both ways one can use to opt out of Facebook, they have their differences.  So before you make a choice, take a look at what your choice means:

Deactivate or Delete Facebook account with no stress

Your choice to deactivate your Facebook account means that:

  • You can reactivate the account whenever you want
  • People will not be able to see your Timeline nor search for you
  • Some like the messages you exchanged with may remain visible.

Your choice to delete your Facebook account means that:

  • Access to your account can’t be regained once its deleted
  • Deleting your account may be delayed for a few days after you have made the request. This deletion request will be cancelled if you log into your Facebook account during this period of time.
  • Deleting your data in the back-up system may take up to 90 days and for that reason, your information will not be accessible during this time.
  • Some things are not stored in your account. For example, your friend may still have the messages you both shared after deletion of your account.
  • Copies of some materials like your log records may still remain in Facebook’s database but they are disassociated from personal identifiers.

 Recommended:

Now, let us show you how to delete your Facebook account temporarily which means the same as Deactivating

On Your Facebook Application

  • Click on the menu button at the top right hand of your .
  • On the pop up screen, scroll down to “Account settings”
  • On the pop-up screen, click on “General”
  • On the pop-up screen, tap on  “Manage Account”
  •  On the pop-up screen, tap on “Deactivate” at the right hand corner.
  • Enter your password on the screen that pops up and tap on “Continue”.
  • On the next page, you will be asked if you are sure of the decision to deactivate and to give reasons why you want to deactivate.
  • After you have provided the necessary information, scroll down to the bottom of the page and tap on “Deactivate” to deactivate your account.
  • You will once again be asked if you want to deactivate your Facebook account, tap on the “Deactivate” button to deactivate your Facebook account.

On Your Browser 

  • Log in your Facebook account details.
  • Click the account menu  at the top right of your Facebook page.
  • On the drop-down menu, select the “Settings” option.
  • The screen that pops up shows your General Account settings, click on “Manage Account”
  • On the screen that drops down under Manage Account, scroll down to “Deactivate your Account”
  • At the bottom of the page, click on the “Deactivate your account” link.
  • A new page will be open, where you need to enter your password.
  • After entering your password, click on the “Continue” button.
  • You’ll be directed to a new page, where you need to tell the reason behind your deactivation.
  • After you’ve provided the needed information, click on the ‘Deactivate’ button for deactivation.
  • Facebook will once again ask you to confirm your decision . Click on the “Deactivate Now button to immediately deactivate your Facebook account.

If you choose to or Delete your account, here’s what to do:
*You are advised to download a copy of your Facebook data before you delete your account for future purposes.*

To download a copy of your Facebook data: 

  • Click the downward arrow at the top right of any Facebook page
  • Select “Settings”
  • Click on the link at the bottom of the main menu that says “Download a copy of your Facebook data”.

After you have downloaded your data, all you need to do is visit this link: https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account, click on “Delete my account”, then follow the steps to confirm.

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.