updated post on Delete my fb account right now – Deactivate Facebook!!
When you are leaving Facebook, you have options to choose from; deactivating your Facebook temporarily is one of them, another is deleting or closing your Facebook account permanently.The option of recovering your Facebook account is open to you if you choose to deactivate your FB account, but you should tread with caution if you choose to delete or block your Facebook account permanently because the chance of recovering or regaining any data or information from your account will not be available to you in the future: when once you delete or block your FB account, all your photos, videos, etc will be gone and you can’t get it back.
Our advice to you is, if you have made up your mind, endeavor to download and back up your FB information (photos, videos, etc) because, you never can tell when you are going to need it.
Facebook has made it clear that it will take about 90 days (roughly three months) for its team to wipe off all your photos, videos, posts, likes, comments, messages, and everything else concerning your account off from their server.
Other Facebook users including your friends won’t be able to visit your profile during the deletion process.