Others

How to delete your Facebook account

DELETE FACEBOOK

The news about Facebook users’ data and controversies surrounding it in early 2018 in Britain brought a realization of the exposure to data theft on the platform. The Cambridge Analytica scandal is one of the many stories, which have proven the vulnerability of personal data. It was reported that personal information of millions of people is at stake and has prompted a significant number to consider quitting the platform. So if you have made the decision to avoid this risk of exposing your data or simply interested in deactivating the platform, certainly, you have an effective way out. You can get rid of it completely or temporarily by deactivating the Facebook account.

 

The difference between Temporary Deactivation and Permanent Deletion

Most users in their decision, ponders what exactly are the significance of either deleting a Facebook account or simply deactivate it. So many people worry if they are not about to completely delete their Facebook account when they had the intention of simply deactivating it for a short time. On the other hand, it is frustrating to delete an account only to learn later that it still exists. The real difference is; deactivation provides the flexibility to return whenever you are ready while deleting means you have permanently ended your association with the platform, although using those particular details. Another account can be created later. Here is how to delete a Facebook page.

 

Deleting Process

The set program is; the account will be deactivated for a month before permanent deletion. This period gives the user enough time to re-think their position and if they want to change their mind. By the end of the month, some people realize the account was more reliable or important so they get back. Any signing in during this period means you forfeit the decision to proceed with the deletion. You will be urged to switch to the deactivation request, but this will deter your efforts for permanent deletion. Ignore this request and instead revoke any app permissions. Follow through by removing all Facebook apps from your devices. You may also choose the account deletion epitaph so your friends can be notified of your departure. You do not want people striving to look for you to no avail because they are not aware of the departure. Some of your important messages can also go wasted and unanswered so avoid the inconvenience by using an epitaph.

 

What happens to the data?

Basically, deleting the account should rid the account of all data related to you. However, it is a long process that takes up to 3 months. According to closer sources, the National Security Agency Surveillance reports that the data may never be wiped away completely at any time. There are many data-privacy breaches organizations, which hold the same views as well.

Backing up your data before deleting is also a choice to make if you want to save some of the details. You can still wipe out your presence from access to friends. You may remove any sensitive content posted and contact friends about content, which you wish deleted.

 

Leaving Social Data Behind

Regardless of how keen you are to wipe out all data, there may be some information on your personal identity, which remains. It could be as easy as a name on a message or tagged photo. Unless you have authority over the platform from a top managerial spot, it would be impossible to practically clean out everything about you. As a regular user, you retain little control over such things. The best thing you can do is simply ask your friends to keep away from your information by respecting your choice to privacy.

 

What Next after deleting?

Facebook has the ability to track non-users in many ways and as easy as using the ‘like’ button. To avoid being tracked again, minimize your comments and like/dislike to keep your privacy. You may also use a tracking blocker app to intensify your privacy. Some people choose to use privacy-enhanced browsers such as Brave to limit exposure and the risk of being tracked. The most effective method today to remain discreet is VPN. Beware that since Facebook owns WhatsApp and other products, which you may still be enrolled, it is easy to track you back.

 

How to deactivate Facebook

Here are the steps you need to follow for deactivation

On the top right of your Facebook page; find the account drop-down menu

  1.    Choose ‘settings’
  2.    Select ‘general’
  3.    Select ‘manage your account’
  4.    Click ‘deactivate your account’

You will be prompted to follow some steps, which confirm and re-confirm your decision. Re-activating in case you need to get back is as easy as logging in with your email and password to verify you are the user. Your profile automatically re-installs.

You can as well click on this URL to temporarily deactivate your profile.

(https://facebook.com/deactivate.php)

 

Permanently deleting your account

After backing up your Facebook data, it is safe to delete Facebook account permanently

  1. Like the deactivation process, select the settings on the top right of your Facebook page
  2. Select ‘download a copy of your Facebook data on the lower left
  3. Select ‘Start My Archive’

This will initiate the download of information concerning your Facebook profile. You should be careful to keep it safe too because it is your personal data.

 

Click this link after backing up your data to permanently close your Facebook account or copy and paste this in any web browser of your choice.

(https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account)

 

How to delete your Facebook account

 

Conclusion

Permanently deleting a account is considered a serious decision. Ensure your mind is absolutely made up before you proceed. Whether you are impressed or not, social media is engraved in modern society and is not easy getting out of it. Your decision to leave might likely affect relationships, lower your opportunities for job opportunities and chances to interact widely or build networks with real people. This means you need to think through on the consequences before making this serious decision.

 

Facebook Comments

About the author

Rabbai

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Speak Your Mind

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Topics