Open the Messenger and tap the compose new message button at the top right. On the ‘New Message’ screen, tap ‘Secret’ at the top right. The first time you send a , Messenger will alert you that the message you’re sending is going to be encrypted from one device to the other. Simply tap ‘Ok’ on this screen to continue.Select a contact to send the secret message to. If your contact doesn’t have the latest version of Messenger, they will not be able to read your message. Unfortunately the Messenger app doesn’t tell you if the contact you selected will be able to see your message or not. It’s best to check with your friend before you send the message.

fb-new-message fb-secret-message

Once you’ve selected the friend you want to send the message to, enter you message. By default, the messages are not set to self-destruct. To send a self-destructing message, tap the little timer button just above the thumbs up emoji. Select how long the message will remain visible, and then send it. You can set a self-destructing timer for ten seconds or one whole day.

When you have self-destruct enabled, all messages in the thread are set to self-destruct in that same time period. When it expires, neither you nor your friend can ever see those messages again. You can turn it Off any time but that will not retrieve the messages that have already expired. Each self-destructing message has timer that counts down time left until it self-destructs.

fb-secret-message-typefb-new-message-timer

When you receive a secret message, the alert/notification you get on your phone doesn’t tell you who it is from. It simply says ‘Someone sent you a message’.

fb-secret-message-alert

Secret and self-destructing messages can still be reported but the time frame they can be reported in is smaller than that of regular messages. Secret messages exist as a separate conversation thread from regular conversation threads. They appear on the Home tab in Messenger.